The Viscount Who Loved Me by Julia Quinn – Review

Title: The Viscount Who Loved Me

Author: Julia Quinn

Length: 354 pages

Genre: Historical Fiction; Historical Romance; Regency

Series: Bridgerton #2


Rating: 7 out of 10.

I am not the biggest fan of enemies to lovers trope, and besides how quickly the flip felt in this novel, I felt the tension was great. Kate had a real reason for not liking Anthony, and Anthony was quite uncomfortable with his infatuation with Kate, since she was not what his ideal wife was like.

Kate is an amazing character. She is strong-willed and stubborn, which makes her the perfect match for the self-assured viscount. She values family inside and out, which makes her a great match for Anthony. I loved her relationship with her stepmom and sister, and her protectiveness made me happy. I felt that this gave her and Anthony some relatability when trying their best with their younger siblings.

            Anthony cares deeply about protecting his family and fulfilling his duty, so when he picks the ‘perfect wife’ obviously nothing goes as planned. Anthony is hard to get through too, but the way Kate finds her way to his heart felt so natural.

            The way the pair acknowledged their fears together and supported each other made me very happy. They aren’t the most conventional couple, but I do think they have a good and strong relationship that would last.

What I Would Change:

           I would have made the haters to lovers drag a little longer. It felt like they hated each other, played a game, took a walk then they were friends. If they would have been forced to get married when they still didn’t like each other that would have been much more interesting!


“Listen to me,” he said, his voice even and intense, “and listen well, because I’m only going to say this once. I desire you. I burn for you. I can’t sleep at night for wanting you. Even when I didn’t like you, I lusted for you. It’s the most maddening, beguiling, damnable thing, but there it is.”

Page # 326

Illustration Discussion

A romance book with a man on the cover… and he is fully clothed! It still provides that splash, and the model looks good. Looking at the elements on the cover, we have the model (Anthony), the Bridgerton Summer House, and the croquet mallet.

Let’s start with the model for Anthony. The color choice of purple is interesting. Purple is about ambition, determination, and devotion. Anthony is the head of the family, and he has resolved to find the perfect wife. The house is a main feature of the book, and Kate and Edwina are invited to stay. A large scene in the book is connected to the croquet mallet on the cover. It is a strong element that increases the attraction between Kate and Anthony.

Spoilers Bee-ware

You have been swarmed. Reading past this post means that you understand that you might spoil the book for yourself.

Stats + Facts

Ages: Anthony: 29 Kate: 21

Page of First Meeting: 32

Who was interested first?: Kate

Page of First Kiss: 130

Page of Engagement: 263

Were They Forced to Marry: Yes

Number of times love is said or thought: 36

Anthony’s zodiac sign is Libra

Polls