Rating: 7.5 out of 10.

Overall Thoughts

The Bridgerton series is one of those that simply keeps getting better as you continue reading. In the beginning, I was hesitant as the first two novels weren’t quite what I look for in a book series but I relieved that I kept going. I loved the way that each Bridgerton sibling found the desired love match that was modelled by their parents. It felt seamless, yet not too easy since many of them have hardships along the way such as being forced into marriage, becoming widowed and watching the love of their life marry someone else. I was pleased that all my favorite characters found their happy endings.

I loved almost every character in this series, and how they mingled with each other. They seemed to always be giving one another advice, playing some sort of game or ultimately, protecting each other. Their love interests also seemed to fit in with the family as if they were siblings themselves.

The plot line of the series was awesome, and honestly could have stretched a little longer than it did, since I feel like by the last book we kind of forget about the Whistledown topic. However, it did help the books and the characters come together successfully, and it kept my interest enough for me to continue reading after I was getting bored of the book’s individual plot lines. I also think Quinn could have added more about what happens to Whistledown once people find out who it is, since I feel like there is a one paragraph explanation then we move on.

What I would have changed: The biggest thing that could have made this series better for me would be integrating the siblings together a little more. Quinn does an amazing job bringing their personalities together to help each other problem solve or help protect one another, but not frequently enough. Going into a couple later books in the series I hardly felt like I knew the main characters, which felt strange since I had known their name for 5-7 books before. Regardless, I adored these siblings and was happy they all go their happy endings.

Illustration Discussion – Comparison

The Bridgerton covers were kept to a theme, and that theme works. I love the color choices for each character and book. Each color matches the Bridgerton sibling or love interest perfectly. We have a rainbow of colors: yellow (x2), purple (x2), pink (x2), blue (x2). Daphne and Penelope are both wearing yellow on their covers (a muted yellow for Daphne and a bright yellow for Penelope). Anthony and Eloisa wear different shades of purple, Sophie and Francesca wear bright pinks, and Hyacinth and Gregory wear blues. In my individual book reviews, I discuss the colour choices and their appropriateness for their characters.

All the clothing matches the Regency London Ton scene, with the flowing gowns, and the shorter sleeves. The men are depicted in long coats with vests. The bright colours are a norm in this era (while it may not have been a bright of hues).

A common style for the covers does not show the faces of their characters. That allows for viewers and readers to create their own ideas of the characters.

Spoilers Bee-ware

You have been swarmed. Reading past this post means that you understand that you might spoil the book for yourself.

Stats + Facts – Comparison

My top three favourite love stories: 1. An Offer From a Gentleman, Benedict and Sophie, 2. When He Was Wicked, Francesca and Micheal, It’s In His Kiss, Hyacinth and Gareth

My top three favourite plot lines: 1. Romancing Mister Bridgertin, Colin and Penelope, 2. On The Way To The Wedding, Gregory and Lucy, 3. It’s In His Kiss, Hyacinth and Gareth

Youngest couple: Gregory and Lucy at a combined age of 22

Oldest couple: Colin and Penelope at a combined age of 30.5

Earliest first kiss: Benedict and Sophie on page 64

Latest first kiss: Francesca and Micheal on page 225

Earliest engagement: Daphne and Simon on page 192

Latest engagement: Benedict and Sophie on page 386

Forced to marry?: 3 yes, 5 no

Least times ‘I love you’ is said or thought: Eloise and Phillip with 26

Most times ‘I love you’ is said or thought: Gregory and Lucy with 100

Polls

Leave a comment