The Jasmine Throne by Tasha Suri – Review

Title: The Jasmine Throne

Author: Tasha Suri

Length: 533 pages

Genre: Fantasy; LBGT; Romance


Spice Level (if applicable): 0 / 5

Series: The Jasmine Throne #1

Overall Rating: 7.5 / 10


Rating: 7.5 out of 10.

Overall Thoughts

The Jasmine Throne is a beautiful, powerful story that discusses the ramifications of patriarchy, the importance of freedom and personal choice, alongside a darker religious undertone. The main story follows the quickly intertwining stories of Malini, a captive princess, and Priya, a power-filled servant.

The world that Tasha Suri creates is many things. It is powerful. It is broken. It is weak. It is real. I felt for all the characters, trying to survive in a world so close to shattering.

The only criticism, and it’s not even a true criticism, is the cast of characters and the main perspectives quick chapters that lasted only a single page. There are over ten characters that work to impact the story, and Suri includes a cast of characters at the end of the book to help readers. Priya, one of our main characters, is a former temple child, a power-filled orphan with a tortured past. Malini is our captive princess who chose to resist her brother’s plan to cleanse her through fire. The Emperor Chandra is a proper villain, with scary tendencies towards violence and a love for fire. We have a full cast of rebels: Ashok, Rukh, Bhumika, and Rao, all attempting to change the course of history through various means.

The romance in The Jasmine Throne was slow but worth it. Priya and Malini were never supposed to meet, as a commoner and a princess, as a captive and a free person. However, once they meet, it becomes clear that they care for each other, even when Priya doubts Malini’s honesty. Malini can be manipulative, but she is clear with Priya that she has never deceived her and hopes to never do so. The romance between Priya and Malini is beautiful and consuming but is overshadowed by the trials and future paths that both women must take. I was saddened to watch Priya and Malini split off on two different but closely intertwined paths. I look forward to witnessing the epic journey they embark on and hope that they find happiness in the end.

Additionally, I loved the magical world that Suri has crafted. I loved that magic is both seen as a boon but also as a curse (depending on how powerful you are with your magic). I really enjoyed that the Hirana Temple was almost treated as sentient beings that make choices and play favorites. The Yaksa were intriguing antagonists in the book (even though we only ever see Priya interact with one. I wonder what ramifications will happen from that interaction?) The rot was intriguing as a disease, as it was both beautiful and terrifying. People turning into plants and trees!

I definitely recommend this book if you like slow-burn, enemies-to-friends-to-lovers romances with a high influence of political intrigue and rebellion. You will be cheering for the end of Emperor Chandra and left waiting, eagerly, for the next book.


” ‘My lady, I am a maidservant’, Priya reminded her. ‘I have no pride to debase.’

A small smile crosssed Malini’s lips.

‘Ah, that is a lie you think you need to tell a highborn lady, is it not? But I know you have pride. We all do. You may ‘lady’ me, and ‘ma’am’ at your seniors, but I can see the iron in you”

Page 183

Illustration Discussion

Okay, as I continue to do illustration reviews, I am beginning to sense that I love stylized character covers. I love when an author’s vision for the character can be realized.

Speaking about the cover. What the hell?! This cover is beautiful. I love the softness of the art, I love the color choices of oranges and browns. I love that you can vaguely see the Hirana temple. I make an assumption here based on character description when I state that I believe that the lovely Desi woman on the cover is our indomitable Priya. She is both delicate and fierce as she leans on the ledge of the Hirana.

Spoilers Bee-ware

You have been swarmed. Reading past this post means that you understand that you might spoil the book for yourself.

Stats + Facts

This is a large book, with world-building and political intrigue steeped into every page. There are 563 pages, and 70 chapters. Of those 70 chapters, we have 65 Perspective changes, and 8 pages per chapter.

The Empire of Parijatdvipa is filled with magic and a disease called rot. There are lots of moments in which the characters use their magic, are pulled into the sangram (a spiritual world that only a few have a connection with). Of these instances, there are 22 moments.

For a world filled with striff and oppression, there are lots of fights. I am only marking the beginning of the fights, which total at 12.

Malini and Priya are our main romance, and these two women start their relationship as strangers/enemies. Therefore, I counted their relationship building (totaling at 15) as a separate category. Once Malini and Priya are friendly with each other, the romance really starts to pick up. In total, there are 6 romantic moments, and 5 kisses.

Polls