Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas – Review

Title: Throne of Glass

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Length: 421 pages

Genre: Fantasy; Romance; High Fantasy


Spice Level (if applicable): 1 / 5*

Series: Throne of Glass #1

Overall Rating: 8.6 / 10


Overall Thoughts:

I started my journey into Maasverse with ACOTAR and so I have decided to read her first series before I start with the newest series. I’m a little backwards I know but better late than never!

That being said, I was nervous about this series. I’ve heard that it’s a slower book series in regards to romance and I am nervous about the tournament trope. The saving grace of this book was the female lead, Celaena. She is a captured assassin, the greatest, pulled from a deadly mine / prison in exchange for fighting in a tournament to become the King’s champion. The only catch is that if she fails, she will be dead or returned to the prison. Celaena hates the King but the chance to be free is too great. She agrees. 

Celaena is a violent but soft person. A constant contradiction to herself, Prince Dorian, and Captain Chaol. These three individuals are quickly inserted into a deadly political game, in which there are magical creatures killing champions, risky tests, and a strong political game. Celaena’s identity is hidden from the court and from the other champions, as she is too well-known. 

I did not enjoy the love triangle, the most annoying book trope in my opinion, but that did not detract from the individual characters. I loved Celaena’s drive, her violence, and her surprising love for books and dogs that contrasted with her strong assassin / fighter skills. I enjoyed every interaction between Dorian and Celaena, even though I knew that she would not end up with him. Chaol is the responsible, grumpy, stoic companion that always stands to the side of Celaena. He proves his dedication to her by his silence acceptance even though that silence leaves Celaena confused. 

I will read the rest of the series, as I am enjoying the political intrigue, the magical mystery, and Celaena’s character.

*a few kissing scenes, slow-burn


Page 155

Illustration Discussion:

A well-known cover that most Fantasy Romance readers have on their shelves. I think that of all the Throne of Glass covers, I do enjoy the single badass image of Celaena striding forwards, carrying two wicked sharp swords. The colour choices are not vivid but still stand out.

Spoilers Bee-ware!

You have been swarmed. Reading past this post means that you understand that you might spoil the book for yourself.

Stats + Facts:

There are on average 7.3 pages per chapter.

Celaena is a violent person by nature and nurture, that being said she thinks about violence 22 times.

Celaena is the main perspective of the book. We also have four additional perspectives: Dorian at 18 moments, Chaol at 10, Kaltain at 8, and finally the King at 1.

Polls: